Thursday, September 18, 2014

Some Thursday Randomness

Thursday Randomness


Fractal Art ~ I just spent a lot of time looking at all the different types of fractal art on DeviantArt. Here are a few that grabbed my attention. Links go to DeviantArt page.
Electro Dragon Fractal
by harbingerofdeath13
Fractal Decoration
by solgas
The Fractal Wizard
by  Trip-Artist

I somehow missed this previously. Saw the trailer for the first time today. Looks great and has a great cast.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

New Releases ~ week of 9/15/2014



Ancestral Machines by Michael Cobley (#4 Humanity's Fire)
Andi Under Pressure by Amanda Flower (#2 Andi Boggs)
Ashes to Ashes by Jenny Han, Siobhan (Vivian #3 Burn for Burn)
Blackbird by Anna Carey (#1 Blackbird Duology)
Day 21 by Kass Morgan (#2 The Hundred)
Echoes of Us by Kat Zhang (#3 The Hybrid Chronicles)
Edge of Eternity by Ken Follett (#3 Century)
Home by Sarah Prineas (#4 Magic Thief)
Hunt for Jade Dragon by Richard Paul Evans (#4 Michael Vey)
Mountains of the Misbegotten by Joseph Heywood (#2 Lute Bapcat)
Once Haunted, Twice Shy by H P Mallory (#2 Peyton Clark)
Outfoxed by Love by Eve Langlais (#2 Kodiak Point)
Raging Heat by Richard Castle (#6 Nikki Heat)
Scandal and the Duchess by Jennifer Ashley (#6.5 Highland Pleasures)
Served Cold by Marie Harte (#1 Best Revenge)
Space Case by Stuart Gibbs (#1 Space Case)
Texas Born by Diana Palmer (#51 Long Tall Texans)
The Blood of an Englishman by M. C. Beaton (#25 Agatha Raisin)
The Certainty of Violet & Luke by Jessica Sorensen (#6 The Coincidence)
The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey (#2 Fifth Wave)
The Last-Chance Maverick by Christyne Butler (#4 Montana Mavericks: 20 Years in the Saddle)
The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas (#2 Elemental Trilogy)
The Stone Wife by Peter Lovesey (#14 Peter Diamond)
The Whispering Skull by Jonathan Stroud (#2 Lockwood & Co)
Trapped by Beverly Long (#3 Crow Hollow)

Monday, September 15, 2014

Book Review ~ The Inventor's Secret

The Inventor's Secret

by Andrea Cremer
published by Philomel
genre: YA, Steampunk, 

Summary (Goodreads): In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Instruments.

My Thoughts: This was a good read but did not feel like a first book. It felt more like a prequel to a series. While there was a small story about the exile and who he really is, it wasn't enough to carry the whole book. This mainly was an introduction into this new world and the characters that live there.
I could have done without the romance drama/ love triangle that appeared even though one had only known Charlotte for minutes. Charlotte and Jack seemed too immature and then throw in Jack's brother and we have unneeded drama considering the world is in the middle of a war.
I liked the side characters we meet in the city from the clueless (or not) wife to the step sister that seems to have more sense than all the exiles put together.
Overall, there was not enough story to carry this book. The secret that is hinted at in the title had no effect on this book. If this had been a prequel I might have rated it higher but as is there wasn't enough depth and it focuses on the wrong characters.

Rating: 3.5

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Some Thursday Randomness

Thursday Randomness


I have a love hate affair with trees/plants. I love the looks of them, I hate taking care of them. I tend to kill them no matter what I do. Pinterest is a time suck but you can find some really great places around the world that you might not see otherwise.
Wisteria Tunnel, Kitakyushu (Japan)
Norway
Art ~ This is all love. I've been following Jasmine Becket-Griffith's work for awhile. I also managed to pick 2 non garden ones :)
Darling Dragonling V
deviantArt
Unseelie Court: Pestilence
deviantArt

Another love/hate. Once Upon a Time, There has not been a full season since the first where I liked it from beginning to end of season. I also wasn't the biggest fan of Frozen so worried about this season as well.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Review ~ Fables Vol. 11 and Vol 12

Fables: War and Pieces and The Dark Ages

by Bill Willingham
illustrated by Mark Buckingham, Peter Gross, Andrew Pepoy, Steve Leialoha, David Hahn, Mike Allred
published by Vertigo
genre: Adult, Graphic Novel, Fantasy, Fairytale retelling,

Summary (Goodreads): vol. 11: The final battle between the free Fables of the mundane world and the Empire occupying their former Homelands is about to begin, and the scrappy storybook heroes have already managed to even the odds considerably. With his previously unstoppable wooden soldiers neutralized, the Adversary is about to get his first taste of high technology in the form of steel-jacketed bullets and laser-guided bombs. But the ruler who
conquered a hundred different worlds didn’t do it by fighting clean—and he’s still got a surprise or two left to spring on the residents of Fabletown.
vol. 12: Tourists of the world unite! If you've ever craved a guided tour of Fabletown's secret Manhattan location, prepare to be voraciously satiated. Pinnochio has a field day taking a certain VIP around the city. And exactly which Fabletown denizens are no longer active (dead, alive or otherwise) just might shock you into a comic book coma. Also in this volume, you'll find the 4-part story featuring Freddy and Mouse, two local rogues who just want to get along and perhaps turn a bit of profit in the post-war, topsy-turvy world. Meanwhile, in Fabletown, a new political group forms called the Society of Seconds, and what they want doesn't seem very reasonable at all.

My Thoughts: I think vol. 11 is one of my favorites so far. We finally have the Fables doing something about the adversary and they were doing it before he did anything more to them. This was also one of the few volumes that I actually liked Prince Charming. He was more in the role of Prince running military maneuvers rather than being a cad. Blue also had a big part in this that had repercussions going forward.
vol. 12 seems to follow the pattern of a really big volume followed by one that is more transitional. There are several things that happen in this volume but I had a harder time stating focused on this one. Part of me is interested in the Dark One but will have to see where they go with it.
Overall, I'm still enjoying these graphics and will be continuing to read them. Between the stories and the great artwork these are some of my favorite I've come across.

Rating: vol 11: 4.5; vol 12: